The EYFS is for all Early Years providers to deliver for children from birth to five years old.

The EYFS consists of seven areas of learning and development-

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self care

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure

Understanding the World

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative

In nursery we produce a Learning Journey file for every child. This is a record of their learning in the nursery, through observations, photographs and ‘work’. This is shared and also added to by parents. The children love to look at their own files and then get to keep them when leaving nursery.

Each child develops at their own rate and in their own individual way.

More information on the EYFS can be found at www.foundationyears.org.uk/eyfs-statutory-framework

Recent Posts